66. (Not to be confused with 666): Deviled Eggs

4 Feb

Photo by Debbie R
Flickr Creative Commons

One day when my sister and I were in an antique store, she picked up a deviled egg plate and said, “Since I’m Southern, I probably should have one of these.” Alas, neither of us purchased one. Fast forward 20 years: I spot a nice glass deviled egg plate at Goodwill for $5. But did I buy it? Oh, no, I did not. Then a couple of weeks later I run across that SAME glass deviled egg plate at an antique store and they wanted $50 for it.

Right now you are probably thinking that I spend far too much time rooting through people’s old stuff. And I haven’t even mentioned my new estate sale obsession…But I digress…

I never actually tried a deviled egg until I was well into my thirties. I grew up Southern Baptist, for whom eating Satanic snack food is a sin almost on par with dancing. Ok, I made that up. Baptists eat heaps of deviled eggs (especially around Easter). But the sinful dancing part is true, in case y’all missed “Footloose.”

Why are these eggs brown around the edges? Because they're actually cookies! Photo by distopiandreamgirl
Flickr Creative Commons

I’ve kind of always had an aversion to yolks, and the only way I would eat eggs was scrambled until… My fellow Southern expats, Chad (Tennessee) and Leah (Georgia) had a brunch one Easter and there was (of course) a tray of deviled eggs. People seemed to be enjoying them immensely, and I started to feel left out – actually, the “left out” feeling began when the conversation turned to triathlons. Anyhow, I tried one. And another. And another. “Deviled eggs!” I thought. “Where have you been all my life?” Deviled eggs: “Duh! Only every gathering you’ve ever been to in the South.”

I was an immediate convert, an evangelist even. I probably went through a whole carton of deviled eggs before the novelty wore off or the cholesterol shot up. These days, I don’t make them at home much, but am always delighted to happen upon them out in the wild.

So far, I haven’t found any that tasted as heavenly as Leah’s. But I’ve used Paula Deen’s recipe, which is a pretty good approximation.

Now if only I could find a suitable deviled egg plate on which to serve them…

Paula Deen’s Traditional Southern Deviled Eggs

Ingredients
7 large eggs, hard boiled and peeled
¼ cup mayonnaise
1 ½ TBSP pickle relish (Paula specifies sweet; I prefer dill.)
1 tsp yellow mustard (French’s style, not fancy pants Gray Poupon)
Salt and pepper to taste
Paprika, sweet gherkin, or pimentos for garnishing (optional)

Directions
Halve 7 eggs lengthwise. Remove yolks and place in a small bowl.
Mash yolks with a fork and stir in mayonnaise, pickle relish, and mustard. Add salt and pepper, to taste.
Fill egg whites evenly with yolk mixture. Garnish with paprika, pickles and pimentos. Store covered in refrigerator.

Do you have a favorite deviled egg recipe? Please share!

17 Responses to “66. (Not to be confused with 666): Deviled Eggs”

  1. Hippie Cahier February 4, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    Wow, those cookies are fab. It’s almost 10 pm on a Friday. Is it too late to whip up some deviled eggs?

    • girloutofdixie February 7, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

      It’s never too late for deviled eggs, but I probably would have opted to attempt the cookies…

  2. Tricia February 5, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    LOL – I may be the ONLY true Southerner who hates eggs. Well, I hate eggs in any form. BUT I will eat a spoonful or two of deviled egg filling. Must be the ratio of mayo/spices/egg that makes it palatable to me. Still won’t eat the whites – ewwww…… My husband on the other hand has been known to eat an entire plate of them in one sitting, much to my horror.

    • girloutofdixie February 7, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

      That’s funny. I must admit, the smell of eggs is pretty repulsive if you’re not eating them yourself. Most especially microwaved scrambled eggs. Ick!

  3. thenakedlistener February 5, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Oh great! Now you’ve got me peckish as hell! I love devilled eggs!

    @Tricia: Can I invite your hubby over in Hong Kong and you can watch us yank down Chinese-style devilled eggs much to your horror, please?

    • girloutofdixie February 7, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

      Strangely enough, I’ve been craving deviled eggs myself.

  4. reneemason February 5, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    I completely agree with the sub of dill relish for the sweet, but then that’s part of why Paula is Paula!! Loved the “not to be confused with 666!

    • girloutofdixie February 7, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

      Indeed, Paula never goes for savory if sweet is an option.

  5. Jbeebus February 5, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    The only way I know to improve a deviled egg is to pile a bunch of bacon on top of it. Paula Dean also has a really great BLT deviled egg recipe. There is no lettuce, despite the “L”. I took a batch to a party in Seattle once and they were a huge hit.

    • girloutofdixie February 7, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

      Deviled eggs and bacon! Why have I never thought of that?!

      Let me know the next time you’re bringing them to a party. I will definitely be there.

      Love that they are BLTs without the L. All of my BLTs are without the Ts.

      Wait a minute, do the eggs involve Ts?

      • Jbeebus February 8, 2011 at 12:12 am #

        There are a minimal amount of diced tomatoes in Paula’s BLT deviled eggs, but you could leave them out. It’s the bacon that’s important.

  6. southofseattle February 6, 2011 at 2:39 am #

    Not only DO I have a special glass deviled egg plate- I make awesome deviled eggs (Paula’s recipe is pretty close.) I guess I’d better put that plate in my will.

    • girloutofdixie February 7, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

      I went to this huge antique show in Puyallup on Saturday. 450 vendors and not a suitable deviled egg plate among them…

  7. reelingintheyears.wordpress.com February 8, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    A staple at every respectable southern family reunion next to the congealed salad.

    • girloutofdixie February 9, 2011 at 10:30 am #

      Oh yes, the congealed salad. Love that many of the “salads” Southerners eat are actually desserts in disguise.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 68. Funeral Food « stuff southern people like - February 9, 2011

    […] not required) Chili or hearty soup (Not chicken noodle; no one’s getting better anytime soon…) Deviled eggs Deep-fried anything Homemade sweets of any variety (remember, no […]

  2. 78. Mayonnaise « stuff southern people like - November 9, 2012

    […] Southerners have a particular fondness for mayonnaise? Well, it IS a key ingredient in deviled eggs and pimento cheese. And you can’t make tuna/chicken/potato/egg/macaroni “salad” without a […]

Pull up a chair and join the conversation...