26. Hee Haw (Hoots, Hollers & Hooters, Oh My!)

15 Feb

If you grew up in the South in the 70s, chances are you have fond memories of watching Hee Haw. Sure, it’s as corny as a can of Green Giant niblets but that’s part of its charm. Besides, where else are you going to see busty, scantily clad women touted as family entertainment? Certainly not Hooters.

Seeing as how Hee Haw debuted long before plastic surgery and Wonder bras, I’m still a little baffled as to how they managed to create such spectacular cleavage. I must admit that as a girl one of my goals (besides becoming a Dallas Cowboys Cheerleader) was to grow myself some Hee Haw boobs. Fortunately, the Daisy Dukes and low-cut halter look was out of fashion before I reached adolescence.

If I were to watch Hee Haw today, I’d probably get all self righteous about how Southern people ought not be portrayed as simple-minded buffoons (or should i say donkeys?), but back in the day, I thought all those Dixiefied sketches were a hoot. Maybe even two hoots (i.e. slightly funnier than a hoot and a half).

While music lovers appreciated the “Pickin and Grinnin” combo of Buck Owens and Roy Clark, I was always partial to songs with meaningful lyrics. For example:

Where oh where are you tonight?
Why did you leave me here all alone?
I searched the world over and thought I found true love.
You met another and pfft you were gone.

Sorry, I can’t provide the tune, but just imagine this sung in the twangiest twang since Foghorn Leghorn.

Or how about:

Gloom, despair and agony on me.
Deep, dark depression. Excessive misery.
If it weren’t for bad luck. I’d have no luck at all.
Gloom, despair and agony on me.

Is it any wonder I became a fan of The Smiths?

4 Responses to “26. Hee Haw (Hoots, Hollers & Hooters, Oh My!)”

  1. Lindig May 10, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    I’ll have you know that I sang along to “where or where” above. I was very fond of Hee Haw for it’s sly humor. I believe the same man who sang that song was the one who told fairy tales in Spoonerisms, like “Rindercella.” Funny stuff.

    I grew up in Wilmington NC and my family moved to Asheville in 1963. Can’t stay out of the south for long.

  2. Lindig May 10, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    Dadburn it, I’m embarrassed. Should be “its” sly humor, not “it’s.” Sorry.

    • Kim Holloway May 12, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

      No worries. Extra points for correcting typo. Also, using the word “dadburn.” Haven’t heard that word in a coon’s age. 🙂

      • Lindig May 18, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

        That’s pretty much what I’m as old as.

Pull up a chair and join the conversation...